Congratulations to our New 2013-2014 Board Members

Dear Colleagues,

It is with great honor and privilege that I get to announce the elected officers for 2013-2014.  Each of these individuals will be taking over on July 1st, 2013.

Amar Zumkhawala joined our team partway through the last year and became a force in helping us connect with speakers, venues, and the community.  He has a computer science background and demonstrates qualities and leadership becoming of a DC ACM Chair.

Gene Lloyd, the veteran of the new board, will be staying on as Vice Chair.  Gene has done a great job in the past year with outreach and helping to put on some of our presentations with prestigious speakers.

Robert Downs is a long-standing ACM member who recently decided to take on the challenging role of Treasurer.  With too many degrees to count on one hand, he’s astute in whatever he puts his mind to.

Matt Piekarczyk served as our Programs Chair in the past year and was a talented conversationalist with our speakers at the dinner table and our events.  He’s the President and founder of his company and a former President of his ACM student chapter at his alumni.

Varetta Higgins is new to DC ACM, with an impressive background of community activism in the technology field.  She has been a leader within the IEEE Women in Engineering and is also interested in promoting STEM education.

I would also like to thank Lougenia Bailey for her efforts as Communications Chair in the past year and this upcoming year.  She’s done a great job with this blog, its contents, and coordinating the contributors to it.

For more professional background on each new board member, please see our previous post when they were candidates here.

With Best Regards,
Andrew Conklin
Chair (until July 1st)